Point Pleasant is governed under the Borough form of New Jersey municipal government. The governing body consists of a Mayor and a Borough Council, which is composed of six members. All positions are elected at-large on a partisan basis as part of the November general election. A Mayor is elected directly by the voters to a four-year term of office, while Council members serve three-year terms on a staggered basis, with two seats coming up for election each year.

The Borough form of government used by Point Pleasant, the most common system used in the state, is a “weak mayor / strong council” government in which council members act as the legislative body with the mayor presiding at meetings and voting only in the event of a tie. The mayor has veto power, but Council can override a veto by a two-thirds vote of the full Council. The mayor makes committee and liaison assignments for Council members, and most appointments are made by the Mayor with the advice and consent of Council.